Official Blog of the Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

LACIS Faculty and Alumni Honored by LASA

A recent Latin American Studies Association email announcing book awards caught our eyes at LACIS recently, and for a few reasons. Three award recipients/honorable mentions currently teach at or received their graduate degree(s) from UW-Madison!

Two past  graduate students from the Department of History who received their PhD minors in LACIS were recognized for their book authorship. Lillian Guerra (MA ’94; PhD ’00), Professor of Cuban and Caribbean History, University of Florida, won the Bryce Wood Book Award for “the outstanding book on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities published in English.” Guerra’s award-winning book is entitled Visions of Power in Cuba: Revolution, Redemption, and Resistance, 1959-1971 (University of North Carolina Press 2013). Lillian_Guerra_Picture

Additionally, Marc Adam Hertzman (’08), Assistant Professor of History at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, received the Bryce Wood Book Award Honorable Mention for his book Making Samba: A New History of Race and Music in Brazil (Duke University Press). Hertzman recently returned to Madison to participate in the Brazil Initiative‘s spring symposium commemorating the 50th anniversary of the 1964 military coup in Brazil. hertzman

Also of note, LACIS faculty Víctor Goldgel-Carballo, Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, UW-Madison, was awarded LASA’s Premio Iberoamericano, granted to the author of the year’s most “outstanding book on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities published in Spanish or Portuguese in any country.” His book is called Cuando lo nuevo conquistó América: prensa, moda y literatura en el siglo xix (Siglo XXI, 2013).  Goldgel-Carballo will be recognized at the annual LASA conference, taking place this May 2014 in Chicago, IL. Goldgel

As LACIS Director, Francisco Scarano, aptly summarized, “Latin American and Caribbean studies are alive and well at UW-Madison!!!!” Felicidades and parabéns to the three award winners!